Tales From The Shelter – 50

December 25, 2010 at 3:54 pm 2 comments

I’m lucky.  I have family in Vancouver and area.  Some of the gals here have no one.  They’ve been writing Christmas cards and slipping them under our doors.  I don’t do xmas cards and feel a wee tinge of guilt because of these women’s situation.  But I refuse to go against my grain and I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not.  Life can be confusing in communal living.  Standards, ethics, values all get tested immeasurably and what once may have bothered you you have to learn to drop or you’ll go crazy.

One of my sisters gave me a bag full of organic walnuts.  I didn’t share them with the women of the ward as will use them as a gift to bring to Christmas dinner at my soon to be in-laws.  Again, I feel a twinge of guilt.  Why?  I’m not sure I’ll ever sort that one out save to guess I have a soft part of my heart that produces a feeling of wanting to give and share with as many as possible.  At the same time, that softness can turn to iron ore and the rust colour it leeches paints a hard picture.

There’s battered wives here, refugees, recently released prisoners, recovering addicts, and most, like me, all suffer from some sort of mood disorder or outright , certified nuttiness (no pun intended).  Many were also sex trade workers while in their addictions.

These women all have their own unique gifts and talents, despite whether they can drive me up the wall or not.  I’m sure I can drive them up the wall , by the same token.  But here we are, living on welfare or disability and waiting, waiting, waiting for housing to come through.  In the meantime we’re in each other’s faces day after day after week after month.  I’ve been here since last March and only one of us has obtained housing.  Some go to transitional places , like an affiliate building where you have your own bachelor suite but are closely watched by the front desk and on video.  Random urine tests are done – you use, your out.  Sign in for this, sign out for that.  It’s more like a half way house and the extra space above the 11 x 15 cubby holes we have here doesn’t make me feel like I’d be moving forward.   I will not apply.

8 am and it’s still dark out.  It was such a relief to reach Solstice knowing the days will be getting longer.  I dream of the time again when I’ll be able to ride my bike through town at night , cutting through warm thermals that leave me feeling like I’m a raven who’s completed a mission.  Gliding.  I like to glide.

No matter what I can’t escape thinking how fortuanate I am compared to so many places in the world.  This doesn’t mean I would give up my work to help improve democracy, rights, and entitlements.  I grew tired of ‘fighting’ a while ago, realizing working has less drain on one emotionally and mentally.  It’s new paradigm b.s. and it works….I don’t have much tolerance for those who are self proclaimed fighters.

What is fighting for a cause anyways, I’m confused?  Seems the fighters are more about themselves.  One I barely know just placed me in a Facebook Group…how he did this I don’t know, he’s an administrator and either FB has changed and given the Admins the power to do this or he’s a hacker.  I think the latter.  So, to further his own cause he compromised me.  Very unethical and as far as I’m concerned no worse then the authorities/system he proclaims to fight.   A bit sick, huh?

Anyways, It’s Christmas, ‘and what have you done?”…no matter the commercialization and a hideous holiday, it’s what I grew up with so my roots are there.  I don’t like the stress of it, but I do like the gatherings, being with family (although that has it’s downs as well as ups), exchanging gifts, and most of all being the official ‘stocking stuffer’ of my own immediate family, despite a

I’m tired of the same faces and personalities day after day and grateful I can take off for three days during christmas.  There’s an irony to it though, for while I will love being away I will miss my cubby hole.

Entry filed under: Political Humour. Tags: , , , .

Tales From The Shelter – 49 Feds Make Tobacco Warning Bigger and More Graphic

2 Comments

  • 1. Wandering Coyote  |  December 27, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    Hope you’re enjoying your few days off, Scoutie. Keep fighting the good fight my friend – no matter how you choose to do it.

  • 2. harpervalley  |  December 31, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    Hey Coyote! thanks….am safely back in my cubby hole….had a wonderful time and now I’m keeping those earbuds in to protect me from some of the ‘in your face’ people here who can’t respect boundaries. Works like a charm 😀


06-series-gold.gif06-humour-bronze.gif 06-new-bronze.gif Canadian Blog Awards

thinkingbloggerpf8.jpg

<EAward_05-26-08>

gse_multipart16799.png

DONATE TO NATIVE SOVEREIGNTY

Because this is THE number one cause to donate to...until Canada recognizes it must deal on a nation to nation basis with First Nations ALL our laws and progress are impaired by a false system. ANY rights, be they gay, gender, minority, whatever, cannot be solved until we go back to the beginning and foundation of North America and honour the Two Row Wampum.

Mohawk Nation News and the Mohawk Clan Mothers lead the way on legal issues surrounding sovereignty. Please donate , it helps you too by bringing RULE OF LAW to Canada and the United States. PAYPAL

OR send cheque or money order to:
MNN Mohawk Nation News,
Box 991 ,
Kahnawake [ Quebec , Canada ]
J0L 1B0

Scott Tribes post on the fantasic children in a canadian indigenous community with no school who are working hard to get one….a MUST READ. petition to sign.
The Queendom of Hawaii...gifts, clothing etc. to support Hawaiian Sovereignty

normalize26.jpg If the link on the pic isn't working please go to http://normalize.wordpress.com/

Famous Stupid People Contest Winners:

contestrules3.jpg

Winnder of # 52 is Great Aunty Bertha of Ecclectic Eccentricity
ANSWER = RICH COLEMAN

Winner of #51 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = KIM CAMPBELL

Winner of #50 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = RONALD REGAN

Winner of #49 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = LINDA LINGLE

Winner of #48 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = ELIZABETH DOLE

Winner of #47 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = LIBERIA'S CHARLES TAYLOR

Winner of #46 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = PHIL FONTAINE

Winner of #45 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = SARAH PALIN

Winner of the dastardly #44 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = JUDGE JOHN G. ROBERTS

Winner # 43 is Q of North of Center
ANSWER = ARNOLD SCHWARZENNEGAR

Winner #42 is Sassy of no fixed address
ANSWER= JANET NAPOLINI

Winner #41 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote.
ANSWER= PREMIER GORDON CAMPBELL

Winner #40 is Sassy of no fixed address
ANSWER= DICK CHENEY

Winner #39 is Q of North of Center
ANSWER= ANITA BRYANT

#38 is WC of Wandering Coyote.
ANSWER= Ted Nugent

#37 is Annamarie of Verbena 19
ANSWER= Hillary Clinton

#36 is GAB of Eclectic Eccentricity.
ANSWER=TONY CLEMENTS

#35 is Bruce of Canuk Attitude
ANSWER= STEPHEN HARPER

#34 is Q of North of Center.
ANSWER=MAYOR MARIE TRAYNOR OF CALEDONIA

#33 is Sassy of no fixed address
ANSWER=POL POT

#32 is Q of North of Center.
ANSWER=DON CHERRY

#31 is Ross of The Gazateer.

ANSWER = BO DEREK

#30 winner is Wandering Coyote of Wandering Coyote.
ANSWER= PRINCE PHILIP

#29 AND 28 winner is Q of North of Center.
ANSWER = NANCY PELOSI, GEORGE WALLACE

# 27 Karen of Voyages of the HMS Swiftsure. ANSWER = BRIAN MULRONEY

# 26 Great Aunty Bertha of Eclectic Eccentricity. ANSWER: PRINCESS ANNE

# 25 AND # 24 winner is Wandering Coyote of Wandering Coyote. ANSWER: HAMID KARZI.

# 23 winner is Bruce of Canuk Attitude ANSWER: EVA BRAUN

# 22 winner is Great Aunty Bertha of Eclectic Eccentricity
ANSWER: JOHN BAIRD.

# 21 is Wandering Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER: ANGELA MERKEL

#20 is Liz who has no blogspot.
ANSWER: JIM PRENTICE

#19 is JJ of Unrepentant Old Hippie ANSWER=GARY MACHALE

#18 is Bruce of Canuk AttitudeANSWER= DALTON MACGUINTY

#17 is Jamie of And From These Ashes.... ANSWER: MARGARET THATCHER

#16 is Great Aunty Bertha of Eclectic Eccentricity. ANSWER: JOSPEH MACCARTHY

# 15 is Sheena of SheenaVision. ANSWER= NANCY REGAN

#14 is Great Aunty Bertha of Eclectic Eccentricity. ANSWER: The Pope

#13 is The Anon of Cyber Space. ANSWER: Barbara Bush

#12 is The Anon of no fixed address. ANSWER: Augusto Pinnochet

# 11 is The Rev of The Woodshed. ANSWER: Donald Trump

#10 is Sheena of SheenaVision ANSWER: Josef Stalin

#9 is JJ of Unperpentant Old HippieANSWER: The Queen of England

# 8 is Ron of Northern SuberviaANSWER=Fulgencio Batista

#6 AND #7 is Q of North of Center ANSWER #6= Felipe Calderon and ANSWER#7=Alessandra Mussolini

#5 is Bazz of Oi ! Thump !. ANSWER= Jane Russell

#4 is BCWaterboy of The Kalamalka Rainbow. ANSWER= "Michael Chertoff"

#3 is Annamarie of Verbena-19 ANSWER= "Laureen Harper"

#2 is Anon...who shall remain anonymous. ANSWER= "Idi Amin"

#1 is Austin of WildDogRoad ANSWER: Imedla Marcos

Useful Links for Activists

Comprehensive list of emails and sites for Canadian Govt., The U.N., other bodies and agencies

How'd They Vote is a resource site for accountability from
a YaYaCanada link

plus YaYa has posted
Tell Them What You Think
which breaks down the 39th parliament and lists emails.

free web page counters

No Surrender Thanks to Bruce at Canuk Attitude
Series: 'If Only They Were Normal', click on the pic of Steve.

Pages

‘Modern’ Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031