Don’t Bug Me I’m Really Frickin’ Stressed Over….

December 6, 2006 at 10:30 pm 16 comments

snowman.jpg
…over this weird thing they call Christmas, and I won’t even be here!!!

PLUS I just discoverd how ice cream cones are made.

There’s only two people I have to shop for, Mr. Scout and Scout Junior. Some of us get stressed easier then others…that would be yours truly. Yep, nerves of glass when it comes to some things.

I’ve been trying to get things in order as I leave for Hawaii for four months on Tuesday (ya, ya, shoot me and put me out of your misery). I’ve got a copper smudge bowl due in at a native art gallery and my angle grinder broke (the finishing is long and ardous so involves the ‘electric muscles’, it’s banged out by hand must to the consternation of my rotator cuffs). Our grown up kid’s birthday was last week but Mr. Scout and I both had colds so didn’t shop for her and didn’t get to have supper with her. My cold lasted longer and I had a fever up until yesterday.

Today I made it into North Vancouver, and surprise of all surprises the ferry wasn’t overflowing. Whew! I paced myself pretty well but my hands were shaking almost all day. There was no way in hell I could find a parking spot in front of LaLaCitrusfruit to get the kid the yoga pants she wants (what the fuck is wrong with just plain old sweat pants??? ah well, once never a fashion slave, never a fashion slave). That made an easy decision…cash in the card and a ‘go get them yourself’.

My fave industrial supply shop didn’t have all the sanding discs I wanted but that’s o.k., I can wing some together from old ones, and they did have the super fine finish ones I really require. CBC Radio was playing something about ‘you know who’ , who shot the women at Ecole Polytechnique, and I don’t want to hear his name again, that’s why my daughter and I contributed to the Woman’s Monument Project in Vancouver, so the names of the women who were killed would be remembered. Off went the radio, I travelled in silence with my bouvier. Glad I brought her along as I can leave the keys in the truck with all my shit and no one’s going to dare try anything. This makes it handy time-wise. No keys to pull, no windows or doors to lock.

Parking everywhere was easy as i remembered to manifest it before hand….works like a charm, save forgetting to do so at LaLaCiitrusFruits. Had time to stop in and see a friend. She knows everyone in the world and gave me some insence (geeze, I almost said incest) from the Dali Lama. Cool. Drove up to daughter’s and handed her the card with cash in it and she loved it….green is her favorite colour….a lot of kids raised on this island rebell and go into legite things….she’s studying to be a carp, I mean, stockbroker.

We realized this would be the last time we would see each other for a while. We hugged and started crying in each other’s arms. She asked when I was coming back and I said the end of April. We both sobbed harder and she said that was like 5 months. I said no, it was four. She said NO, IT’S FIVE. I said NO IT’S FOUR! Then we started laughing at the little tiff but I wondered if this mother/daughter shit ever ends. She’s probably wondering if this daugher/mother bit ever ends.

I got back on the ferry and there was a couple of my fave seniors aboard. I sat with them and their crowd and the one guy started bugging me in fun. I loved it. I bugged hiim back. Then one of the local developers walked by and tried his best not to snarl at me as i had just posted something on our local internet forum about how stupid council is for continuuing to buy the bullshit of developers , and had pointed some of their stupid ploys out for the umpteenth time. The developers are afraid the majority may just actually believe myself and others one day as we have them nailed. He couldn’t do a full snarl as the senior guy is jovial and threw a crack his way. The developer is lucky , real lucky, he didn’t try to non-fun bug me!

I got home and lit the inscence and had an email from a native sister in Montana asking me to say prayers for her and her husband. Things like that always happen. The timing is always right. My prayers are done (no no no, not where you bend down on your knees and make your hands into the shape of a ‘here’s the church, here’s the steeple, open the doors and see all the people’ shape kind of prayers. It’s much more involved and blah blah blah.

Mr. Scout was asleep when I got home. Good, I didn’t feel like talking. Not that he’s …..oh never mind.

Now I have a little bit of time to go to friend’s blogs and comment….or not. I won’t have time to make all the regular rounds, hopefully tomorrow I’ll be able to cruise the block and drop in to see everyone.

My Christmas shopping for two people is done (what was I freaking about…it’s not like I buy reems of presents for them!!!). And I’m not sure whether I’ll eat another ice cream cone for a whle…even in Hawaii.

———
*Note: ANOTHER REPUBLICAN SEX BUST , this report via The Woodshed. Also check out the vid on the ‘amazing guitarist’….wow!!!

Entry filed under: Christmas shopping, Ecole Polytecnique.

Due South? Same Steve Marriage – Vote NO!

16 Comments

  • 1. Great Aunty Bertha  |  December 6, 2006 at 10:43 pm

    Ah, now I know why I don’t like icecream.

    Have a great time south in the sun, Scout.

    GAB

  • 2. harpervalley  |  December 6, 2006 at 11:39 pm

    thanks gabarino!

  • 3. Alison  |  December 7, 2006 at 1:47 am

    It isn’t that you do it shaking that counts, honey bun, it’s that you do it anyway. You have been my hero for this one very thing for years now.

    Have a great trip.

  • 4. jacobin  |  December 7, 2006 at 5:07 am

    awe … I guess i’ll say it, have a good trip!

    bah humbug! just kidding have fun.

    you’ll still be blogging and updating your blog while tanning on the beach right?

    say hi to magnum for me.

  • 5. jacobin  |  December 7, 2006 at 5:08 am

    I wonder how much they get paid for shitting snow’s?

  • 6. jacobin  |  December 7, 2006 at 5:09 am

    looks like “soft “work, not “hard ” work at all

  • 7. harpervalley  |  December 7, 2006 at 9:06 am

    alison, oh, bunny-hon, yer such a sweetheart …..i love ya, big kid, but as you know, never, ever, expect a postcard from me 🙂 …..email yes, postcard no.

    jacobin, ‘looks like soft work’….ewwww, i like that one! yes, i still have a few posts left in me before i go and i now have a digital camera so not only can post from hawaii, but can post pics so people can spit on their screens at me. my annual trip makes me the ‘least felt sorry for person’ within family and friends circles………

    the funnest part is when i phone. the reaction on the other end is ‘oh no! we don’t want to hear about the weather!!!!’.

  • 8. JJ  |  December 7, 2006 at 12:51 pm

    Have an awesome time… think of us back here in the F#$@ snow.

    Hey, you’re taking your lappie with you, right? Right??

  • 9. harpervalley  |  December 7, 2006 at 1:34 pm

    JJ, have laptop will travel….that’s why i’ll be thinking of you and rubbing it in….er, i mean, posting from hawaii. knock wood, it’s survived the sand , heat and moisture before.

    i may not be able to get around to everyone’s sites as often, but my new digi cam (courtesy of mr. scout for ex-mass) will lhopeuflly bring you cool shots.

  • 10. JJ  |  December 7, 2006 at 2:38 pm

    Oh, he gave you a digi, what a sweetheart. Get rechargeable batteries & take lots of pics, but most of all have a good time, little globetrotting scout.

  • 11. harpervalley  |  December 7, 2006 at 4:24 pm

    jj, ha, ya i had a digi before but dropped it in a shark breeding bay. thanks for the well wishes , ay ay, mon capitaine, will have fun, will continue my studies with the kahunas ( i don’t go to paid workshops, these are ones you wouldn’t find on your own). will also learn more lomi lomi (divine hawaiian healing massage)…….and do healings on others. was hoping i’d have the money to get over to new zealand and study with maoris this year but i guess i’m not finished in hawaii yet…no dough, no go.

  • 12. Annamarie  |  December 7, 2006 at 5:06 pm

    Guess I won’t be eating any ice-cream for awhile either…. hehehe! It’s too damn cold here now anyway, -19 with windchill!!! Brrr!!

    Have a great time learning new things and refining old ones in my fave spot on Earth! Please tell anyone who remembers me that I think of them often and wish them well.

    Most of all, have fun, try to relax and ENJOY!!! My thoughts will be with you in that idyllic place of the wonderful ‘real’ Hawaiians. ( If I had more funds now, I’d be there too!) btw, send me an email when you have time and let me know where you’ll be, just in case I hit the lottery … 🙂

    And lucky you having your Xmas shopping all done… I’m still trotting around with Mother through the malls… ugh! Have lots of little kiddies in family who are expecting gifts. Bah-humbug!

    Signed: Scrooge (aka you-know-who)

  • 13. Adrian MacNair  |  December 7, 2006 at 5:16 pm

    I was away from my son for 8 months once. It’s difficult, but it also gives you a perspective of what children really mean.

  • 14. harpervalley  |  December 7, 2006 at 9:34 pm

    8 months….whoa!!!! my daughter’s grown so it’s not the same as leaving a litttle one and we talk on the phone …..same with hubby. gives me a whole new appreciation on the guy after being together for 33 years!!!

  • 15. rev.paperboy  |  December 11, 2006 at 7:50 am

    You live on Vancouver Island and you spend four months of the year camping in Hawaii?

    Must ….not…curse…tropic-dwellers……

  • 16. harpervalley  |  December 11, 2006 at 9:31 am

    rev….haha, don’t worry….it’s because of seasonal affective disorder (big time, meds,lamps etc. won’t beat it)….so it’s sunshine or the psyche ward….which is the better choice?

    so only curse me lightly ….now you too can contract s.a.d.,…. for only $9.95, scout will send you a pamphlet on how to fake symptoms.


06-series-gold.gif06-humour-bronze.gif 06-new-bronze.gif Canadian Blog Awards

thinkingbloggerpf8.jpg

<EAward_05-26-08>

gse_multipart16799.png

DONATE TO NATIVE SOVEREIGNTY

Because this is THE number one cause to donate to...until Canada recognizes it must deal on a nation to nation basis with First Nations ALL our laws and progress are impaired by a false system. ANY rights, be they gay, gender, minority, whatever, cannot be solved until we go back to the beginning and foundation of North America and honour the Two Row Wampum.

Mohawk Nation News and the Mohawk Clan Mothers lead the way on legal issues surrounding sovereignty. Please donate , it helps you too by bringing RULE OF LAW to Canada and the United States. PAYPAL

OR send cheque or money order to:
MNN Mohawk Nation News,
Box 991 ,
Kahnawake [ Quebec , Canada ]
J0L 1B0

Scott Tribes post on the fantasic children in a canadian indigenous community with no school who are working hard to get one….a MUST READ. petition to sign.
The Queendom of Hawaii...gifts, clothing etc. to support Hawaiian Sovereignty

normalize26.jpg If the link on the pic isn't working please go to http://normalize.wordpress.com/

Famous Stupid People Contest Winners:

contestrules3.jpg

Winnder of # 52 is Great Aunty Bertha of Ecclectic Eccentricity
ANSWER = RICH COLEMAN

Winner of #51 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = KIM CAMPBELL

Winner of #50 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = RONALD REGAN

Winner of #49 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = LINDA LINGLE

Winner of #48 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = ELIZABETH DOLE

Winner of #47 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = LIBERIA'S CHARLES TAYLOR

Winner of #46 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = PHIL FONTAINE

Winner of #45 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = SARAH PALIN

Winner of the dastardly #44 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER = JUDGE JOHN G. ROBERTS

Winner # 43 is Q of North of Center
ANSWER = ARNOLD SCHWARZENNEGAR

Winner #42 is Sassy of no fixed address
ANSWER= JANET NAPOLINI

Winner #41 is Coyote of Wandering Coyote.
ANSWER= PREMIER GORDON CAMPBELL

Winner #40 is Sassy of no fixed address
ANSWER= DICK CHENEY

Winner #39 is Q of North of Center
ANSWER= ANITA BRYANT

#38 is WC of Wandering Coyote.
ANSWER= Ted Nugent

#37 is Annamarie of Verbena 19
ANSWER= Hillary Clinton

#36 is GAB of Eclectic Eccentricity.
ANSWER=TONY CLEMENTS

#35 is Bruce of Canuk Attitude
ANSWER= STEPHEN HARPER

#34 is Q of North of Center.
ANSWER=MAYOR MARIE TRAYNOR OF CALEDONIA

#33 is Sassy of no fixed address
ANSWER=POL POT

#32 is Q of North of Center.
ANSWER=DON CHERRY

#31 is Ross of The Gazateer.

ANSWER = BO DEREK

#30 winner is Wandering Coyote of Wandering Coyote.
ANSWER= PRINCE PHILIP

#29 AND 28 winner is Q of North of Center.
ANSWER = NANCY PELOSI, GEORGE WALLACE

# 27 Karen of Voyages of the HMS Swiftsure. ANSWER = BRIAN MULRONEY

# 26 Great Aunty Bertha of Eclectic Eccentricity. ANSWER: PRINCESS ANNE

# 25 AND # 24 winner is Wandering Coyote of Wandering Coyote. ANSWER: HAMID KARZI.

# 23 winner is Bruce of Canuk Attitude ANSWER: EVA BRAUN

# 22 winner is Great Aunty Bertha of Eclectic Eccentricity
ANSWER: JOHN BAIRD.

# 21 is Wandering Coyote of Wandering Coyote
ANSWER: ANGELA MERKEL

#20 is Liz who has no blogspot.
ANSWER: JIM PRENTICE

#19 is JJ of Unrepentant Old Hippie ANSWER=GARY MACHALE

#18 is Bruce of Canuk AttitudeANSWER= DALTON MACGUINTY

#17 is Jamie of And From These Ashes.... ANSWER: MARGARET THATCHER

#16 is Great Aunty Bertha of Eclectic Eccentricity. ANSWER: JOSPEH MACCARTHY

# 15 is Sheena of SheenaVision. ANSWER= NANCY REGAN

#14 is Great Aunty Bertha of Eclectic Eccentricity. ANSWER: The Pope

#13 is The Anon of Cyber Space. ANSWER: Barbara Bush

#12 is The Anon of no fixed address. ANSWER: Augusto Pinnochet

# 11 is The Rev of The Woodshed. ANSWER: Donald Trump

#10 is Sheena of SheenaVision ANSWER: Josef Stalin

#9 is JJ of Unperpentant Old HippieANSWER: The Queen of England

# 8 is Ron of Northern SuberviaANSWER=Fulgencio Batista

#6 AND #7 is Q of North of Center ANSWER #6= Felipe Calderon and ANSWER#7=Alessandra Mussolini

#5 is Bazz of Oi ! Thump !. ANSWER= Jane Russell

#4 is BCWaterboy of The Kalamalka Rainbow. ANSWER= "Michael Chertoff"

#3 is Annamarie of Verbena-19 ANSWER= "Laureen Harper"

#2 is Anon...who shall remain anonymous. ANSWER= "Idi Amin"

#1 is Austin of WildDogRoad ANSWER: Imedla Marcos

Useful Links for Activists

Comprehensive list of emails and sites for Canadian Govt., The U.N., other bodies and agencies

How'd They Vote is a resource site for accountability from
a YaYaCanada link

plus YaYa has posted
Tell Them What You Think
which breaks down the 39th parliament and lists emails.

free web page counters

No Surrender Thanks to Bruce at Canuk Attitude
Series: 'If Only They Were Normal', click on the pic of Steve.

Pages

‘Modern’ Calendar

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031